"Heart of Jesus" chapel

This is a small chapel, surrounded by defensive wall, at the southern entrance of the town, near the Salvator mountain, close to the healing springs. It is called "Heart of Jesus" chapel or Sacred Heart chapel. Most of historical researches consider that the chapel was built in the XIII century, thus the "Heart of Jesus" chapel is the oldest architectural monument of the town.

"Szekler-attacked" fortress

The medieval fortress is an important architectural monuments of the town. The four towers were named after the captains commanding here in different periods: Fóris-tower, Hajdú tower, Bánffy tower and Telegdy tower. The fortress, in the form we can see today, was built by suzerain János Zsigmond in 1562-65, in order to master the rebelled Szeklers.

Tompa László memorial house

Right next to the fortress (Tompa László u. 10.) you can visit the commemorative exhibition presenting the biography and work of the poet Tompa László (1883-1964). This house with ornate facade had been the home of the famous poet, translator and journalist since 1920 until he died (1964).

Benedek Elek Pedagogical High School

The former reformed boarding school built in 1912 in Hungarian secession style, gives home today for the building of the Benedek Elek Pedagogical High School. On the court of the school there is the statue of Elek gaffer. Near the building you can find the reformed boarding school established in 1670 by count Bethlen János, where famous people studied such as: Benedek Elek, the famous Taleteller, painter Barabás Miklós and Orbán Balázs „the biggest” Szekler ever. This building provides room for the academic library, having over 50.000 books, founded by Transylvanian suzerain, Apafi Mihály with 28 books.

Remembrance Park

In the centre of the town, there are 13 statues of historical and public figures unveiled in 2004. The statues represent the following historical personalities: Báthory István, Bem gaffer, Bethlen Gábor, Bethlen István, Prince Csaba, Fráter György, Hunyadi János, Kós Károly, Nyírő József, Rákóczi Ferenc, Szent László, Wesselényi Miklós, Vándor Székely.